Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte: This Book Provided the Key to Escape from my Fury and Hurt

Image

Public Domain picture of Emily Bronte painted by her brother.

Bitter and seething from someone constantly hurting me without cause, I was ready to explode. I had talked with a counselor and even a pastor or two, but I was still angry. I wanted to forgive, but the pain inside me demanded justice. Temptation for revenge also plagued me. Although I prayed and asked God for help, little help seemed to come. However, one day God did send me help, and it came through a strange avenue, Wuthering Heights. This classic book by Emily Bronte is a timeless, but tragic, love story that has captured the hearts of millions, and it captured mine as well because it provided the key to my escape from fury and hurt.

Inside the book I became acquainted with Heathcliff, a bitter, unforgiving man who ruined the lives of others because he chose not to forgive. His actions, bizarre and barbaric, shone a light down the path that I was headed, and I didn’t like it. I didn’t want to become the monster that he became, and for the first time forgiveness became appealing.

After reading this book, the desire to write novels burned in my heart more fervently than ever before. I wanted God to use me to help people overcome tragic situations and to give them the desire to make good choices. I remembered that in the Bible God used parables to teach the people, and the Old Testament and New Testament are filled with stories. It’s as if God knows that stories change the hearts of people, and I want to be part of that change. I want God to give me stories that will bless the lives of other people the way that Wuthering Heights blessed me. I hope that through novels I will be able to offer people the key to freedom from vices that are trapping them and holding them captive.

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Faith, forgiveness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

