Learning to Live at Age Forty

Instead of losing the sweet joy of youth, I’m learning to love life more at age forty than I

At Casa de Paz

I’m visiting with the people at Casa de Paz.

did at age twenty. Part of the passion and zest in my life comes from embracing who God made me to be and accepting myself with my flaws and imperfections. I have been made by God for a specific purpose, and I can enjoy that feeling of contentment that comes from making a difference in this world.

When I was younger, I admired people with skills that I didn’t have. I always tried to improve in the areas that I was lacking, and there is some merit to this. However, I’ll never be the perfect housekeeper or the woman who gives great directions. If you’re lost, I’m not your go-to gal. Instead, I’m the compassionate friend who will listen to your problems while your kid makes a mess in my living room. I’m the friend who doesn’t care that you’re an emotional wreck. I’ll love you anyway.

God gave me compassion for other people, and I will see your strengths while others only see your weaknesses. I’ll help you improve and be one of your greatest fans. I’ll encourage you and help you to achieve your potential. That is me.

I’m not the woman who looks like a manicured masterpiece every day. Sometimes I’m a disheveled mess, but that’s okay. I’m not perfect, no matter how hard I may try. I’m just someone who wants to embrace her God-given strengths and be thankful for who she is and the life that God has given her rather than worrying about who everyone else wants her to be.

I don’t want to use other people’s measuring sticks that list their standards of perfection any longer. I only want to use the Bible as a guide-book for who I am supposed to be. I want to grow closer to God, embracing his love for me and being thankful for the life he has given me. After all, he is the one who gave me the unique set of skills that I have. He must like the combination.

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Encouragement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

