Father’s Day Poem For My Dad

In honor of my dad, I wrote him the poem below.

Happy Father’s Day Waterfall in Georgia

Dad, when I remember all the good times we’ve shared, a smile always comes to my face. As a little girl I looked forward to you coming home and spending time with me.  It was such a  treat just to be with you. You talked to me and made me feel special. I knew that I was loved.

As I grew older you taught me how to drive, how to act around boys, and how to make good decisions. I didn’t always follow your advice, but you still loved me. When I look back, I wish that I had listened to you more often and paid attention to the wisdom that you had to offer. 

You have stood beside me through the toughest times of my life. You have withheld your judgment on me when I have made mistakes. Instead, you have chosen to put your arms around me, love me, and point me in the right direction. You have been an example to me throughout my life, and I want you to know how much I appreciate your love and devotion as a father. You have been one of the biggest blessings of my life.

By Melissa Main

This poem is copyrighted. You must give credit to the author by saying, “Poem by Melissa Main.”

My husband and I have made greeting cards for people to use at various holidays, including a greeting card for Father’s Day. 

DOWNLOAD FREE GREETING CARDS

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

