Afflictions Produce Hope

But we rejoice in our afflictions, because we know that affliction produces endurance, endurance produces proven character, and proven character produces hope. This hope does not disappoint, because God’s love has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us. Romans 5:3-5 

Is there anything good that can come from trouble? Yes, there is. Going through a storm gives us confidence when we face the next one. We learn how to face the difficulties that life offers, and we gain new perspectives on life.

After going through a divorce, I gained a new appreciation for marriage and for working at my marriage. The trial changed me. God brought positive results out of my pain. Before problems had a chance to start, I began working on my new marriage and setting aside time for my spouse. I set a course in motion to avoid the problems I had faced in the past.

After enduring a heart-breaking divorce, I can also look back and say, “God got me through the trial of divorce. Surely God can handle this next disaster in my life.”

Other trials in life can also be devastating. When money has been tight and God has provided funds, it serves as an inspiration of hope the next time I face an unexpected expense. (I believe in planning and savings, but sometimes the unexpected does happen. For example, although I had health insurance, my first child was born premature, and our family had $10,000 in medical bills. God made a way for those bills to be paid, and this encourages me as I face other medical bills.)

Learning to endure difficulties takes practices just like any other skill, but the rewards include endurance, proven character, and hope.

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Divorce, Encouragement, Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Afflictions Produce Hope

  1. Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com says:

    Thank you MainWriters for sharing this very inspiring post. The song writer says “Through it all I have learned to trust in Jesus, I have learned to trust in God.

Leave a Reply

