Psalm 119: Help Comes From Reading God’s Word

as the deer pants for water...

as the deer pants for water... (Photo credit: Swiv)

129 Your decrees are wonderful; therefore I obey them.
130 The revelation of Your words brings light and gives understanding to the inexperienced.
131 I pant with open mouth because I long for Your commands.
132 Turn to me and be gracious to me, as is Your practice towards those who love Your name.
133 Make my steps steady through Your promise; don’t let sin dominate me.
134 Redeem me from human oppression, and I will keep Your precepts.
135 Show favor to Your servant, and teach me Your statutes.
136 My eyes pour out streams of tears because people do not follow Your instruction.
Psalm 119: 137-144 Holaman CSB

Related verse: As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God. Psalm 42:1 NIV

Has there ever been a time in your life when the problems seemed so overwhelming that you didn’t know how to handle all of them? Was there a time when you cried out to God to help you with the mess that you were in? Have you been confused and discouraged? Thankfully, we have a God who cares for us and gives us direction. We can go to His words that “bring light” to our darkness and “give understanding to the inexperienced” (Psalm 119:130). We can read the Bible and find help with life because life is not easy. Without the hope that the Scriptures offer, we can become confused and discouraged.

Even when we are reading God’s word, we can fall down and lose heart. We can begin to wonder, “How will it ever be possible to mop up the mess I’m in?” The tough times won’t miraculously go away when we read God’s word, but God promises to give us wisdom to deal with these difficult time. Since our very path in life must be directed by the Bible, we should long to read the words it contains. We should pant for its truths as a deer pants for water. We need to desperately seek the wisdom and guidance that only God offers.

Just yesterday I became discouraged over an issue in my life. I wondered how I would face the issue with the limited resources at my disposal. Then I began to pray and God began sending me help. A thought came to mind, “God can help me. He can do miracles.” I thought back over the times in my life when I had seen God come through for me in miraculous ways, and this helped to encourage me. God sent friends to give me wisdom for dealing with my crisis. Today as I read my Bible I was reminded that I can find wisdom for dealing my situation in God’s word. I can take the truths He has given me and be better prepared for living life to the fullest, no matter how many pitfalls come my way.

 Listen to the words of the song, “As the Deer Panteth for the Water”

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Psalm 119: Help Comes From Reading God’s Word

  1. Noel Williams (prhayz) www.prhayz.com says:

    God works in mysterious ways MainWriters! Jeremiah 33:3 – “Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.” I am a living testimony that He delivers.

    Thanks MainWriters, for sharing. This post speaks directly to.

    • MainWriters says:

      Thanks so much, Noel. Your words are an encouragement to us. May God bless you and keep you and make His face shine upon you. May He turn His face towards you and bring you peace. Numbers 6:24-26.

Leave a Reply

