Psalm 119: Having Faith in God’s Word

Bible, Psalm 119113 I hate the double-minded, but I love Your instruction.
114 You are my shelter and my shield; I put my hope in Your word.
115 Depart from me, you evil ones, so that I may obey my God’s commands.
116 Sustain me as You promised, and I will live; do not let me be ashamed of my hope.
117 Sustain me so that I can be sage and be concerned with Your statutes continually.
118 You reject all who stray from Your statutes, for their deceit is a lie.
119 You remove all the wicked on earth as if they were dross; therefore, I love Your decrees.
120 I tremble in awe of You; I fear Your judgments.

Psalm 119:113-120

This passage starts out with some harsh words.  I hate the double-minded, but I love Your instruction. Double-minded and indecisive people keep changing their minds. One minute they are willing to obey God’s word and the next minute they want to follow their own plans or agendas. However, God doesn’t want us to be uncommitted. God wants our minds fixed on His word and committed to obeying it.   Compare this verse to James 1:5-8 where God talks again about double-minded people. If any of you lack wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

Double-minded people lack faith to believe in God. Their minds and actions keep changing because of their lack of faith. In Hebrews 11:6, we are reminded that “without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”

God wants us to have faith in him and to rely on his instructions for how to live our lives. He wants the Bible to be our play book for the game of life. He wants us to love his instructions and follow them. He doesn’t want us changing our minds and our allegiance. He wants us to be faithful to obeying the laws he has given us.

When we are committed to God, we will realize that He is our strength in times of need. The writer of this psalm confidently proclaimed, “You are my shelter and my shield.”
God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in times of trouble (Psalm 46:1). In Psalm 17:8, the writer cries out, “Hide me in the shadow of your wings from the wicked who assail me.” It is clear from numerous passages in the psalms that we are to rely on God throughout the storms of life. He is the our source and strength and peace during difficulties and pain. But, how can we trust someone when we do not have faith? How can rely on someone we are not committed to?

As we read God’s word and obey it, our faith will increase. We will gain a new understanding on how to live and how to deal with difficult situations. The more we read God’s word, the more we will come to see how He protects us and cares for us.

The last few verses of this section will be discussed in the next blog. May God bless you as you continue to read His word.

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Faith, Psalm 119 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Psalm 119: Having Faith in God’s Word

  1. Pingback: Is there a place called “There”? | The Official BLOG site of Ressurrection Graves

  2. Pingback: Psalm 119: God’s Word Sustains Us | MainWriters: Faith and Family

  3. Pingback: Psalm 119: I Love Your Word More Than Gold | MainWriters: Faith and Family

  4. Pingback: Trusting and relying on God’s Word « bummyla

  5. Pingback: Faith pleases God « bummyla

  6. Pingback: Psalm 119: Help Comes From Reading God’s Word | MainWriters: Faith and Family

  7. Pingback: And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him « bummyla

Leave a Reply

