Having Faith in God When the Situation Looks Hopeless

Praying old man.

Image via Wikipedia

I long for Your salvation; I put my hope in Your word.
My eyes grow weary looking for what You have promised; I ask, “When will you comfort me?”
Though I have become like a wineskin dried by smoke, I do not forget Your statutes.
How many days must Your servant wait? When will You execute judgment on my persecutors?
The arrogant have dug pits for me; they violate Your instruction.
All Your commands are true; people persecute me with lies–help me!
They almost ended my life on earth, but I did not abandon Your precepts.
Give me life in accordance with Your faithful love, and I will obey the decree You have spoken.

Psalm 119:81-88

They almost ended my life on earth, but I did not abandon Your precepts. The writer was violently attacked by his enemies. The situation was so desperate that he almost died. The ruthless people who sought to destroy him seem to have gotten off the hook without punishment.

It is at this point that many Christians become bitter. They ask, “Where is God when I am hurting? Why doesn’t He do something to help me?” It is common to grow discouraged when help seems so far away. It is easy to give up when the trials go on and on without an end in sight.

However, the writer of this psalm was not a common man. He was an extraordinary man whose example can help us today. He tells us in verse 81 “I put my hope in Your [God’s] word.” Despite the tragic circumstances that he was facing, he still chose to put his hope in God. Although a solution was not apparent at the time and he asked questions about why God was taking so long, he still chose to trust God to provide. He kept praying and asking God for help.

His Majesty King George VI of the United Kingdom.

Trusting God in the most heartbreaking situations is really the only reasonable thing to do. King George VI encouraged his country during the desperate days of World War II with these words, “And I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year, ‘Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.’ And he replied, ‘Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the hand of God. That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.'”

During your darkest days, I encourage you to put your trust in God even when the way is uncertain and help seems so far away.

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

