Psalm 119: Loving and Obeying God’s Word

Scroll of the Psalms

Image via Wikipedia

41 May your unfailing love come to me, O LORD, your salvation according to your promise;
42 then I will answer the one who taunts me, for I trust in your word.
43 Do not snatch the word of truth from my mouth, for I have put my hope in your laws.
44 I will always obey your law, for ever and ever.
45 I will walk about in freedom, for I have sought out your precepts.
46 I will speak of your statutes before kings and will not be put to shame,
47 for I delight in your commands because I love them.
48 I lift up my hands to your commands, which I love, and I meditate on your decrees.

Psalm 119:41 -48 NIV

When I read of this writer’s desire to be loved by God, I am reminded of John 14: 21, which says, “Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.” Obedience to God and feeling God shower His love down on me go hand in hand. Although God loves us even when we are disobedient, we don’t get to experience his blessings; instead we feel the painful consequences brought on by our rebellion.

The writer realizes that his salvation comes from God. It is God who has paid the penalty for our sins and who offers forgiveness. We must come to Him asking to be forgiven and believing that it was His Son, Jesus Christ, who paid the penalty for our sins on the cross.

Just as the writer acknowledges that his salvation comes from God, he also realizes that his hope comes from God and His laws. The psalmist believes that obeying God’s word will give him hope for the future and direction for his life.

I will always obey your law, forever and ever. The psalmist makes a firm commitment to obeying God’s word. He understands the blessings that will come to him from being obedient. Besides spiritual insight on how to relate to God, God’s laws also give people wonderful instructions for relating to other people and even superb ideas for managing money.

I walk about in freedom, for I have sought out your precepts. Rather than feeling in bondage to obeying God’s law, the writer feels free and content. He didn’t just agree to obey laws when they were brought to his attention, he sought out God’s laws. He read God’s word to see what God wanted him to do. In the same manner, we should read God’s word, the Bible, every day so that we will know how God wants us to live.

 I will speak of your statutes before kings and will not be put to shame, for I delight in your commands because I love them. The writer was not afraid to talk to other people about God and His word. It was a natural part of his life. It flowed out of him; it was not forced. He talked to people about God’s blessing in the natural course of conversation. We should follow the psalmist example and tell others about God. However, this doesn’t mean scaring them off in the first five seconds we talk to them. We should genuinely care about people and their problems and listen to them. This gives us an opportunity to tell them about the love of Christ. Kindness, love, and concern for other people when telling them about God helps them to be more receptive to the message we give them. We should pray for people and ask God how to speak to them about the message of salvation.

 I lift up my hands to your commands, which I love, and I meditate on your decrees. The writer doesn’t just read God’s word and obey it, he also meditates on it. He thinks about it during the day because he loves it. Just as we may love a special song and sing it in our heads, we should also love God’s love and keep it running through our minds. Being aware of God’s laws throughout the days helps us to make good decisions and help other people.


 

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Faith, Psalm 119 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Psalm 119: Loving and Obeying God’s Word

  1. Pingback: Psalm 119: God’s Help for Stumbling Into Sin | MainWriters: Faith and Family

  2. Pingback: Psalm 119: God’s Word Is a Light for Our Path | MainWriters: Faith and Family

  3. Pingback: Psalm 119: Having Faith in God’s Word | MainWriters: Faith and Family

Leave a Reply

