God’s Word: Absolutely Delightful

Scroll of the Psalms

Image via Wikipedia

Do good to your servant, and I will live; I will obey your word. Open my eyes  that I may see wonderful things in your law. I am a stranger on earth; do not hide your commands from me. My soul is consumed with longing for your laws at all times. You rebuke the arrogant, who are cursed and who stray from your commands. Remove from me scorn and contempt, for I keep your statues. Though rulers sit together and slander me, your servant will meditate on your decrees. Your statues are my delight; they are my counselors. Psalm 119:17-24

If a theme in a book is repeated over and over, the reader realizes that the theme is of utmost importance to the message of the book. In Psalm 119, the writer talks about the theme of God’s word continuously. The word of God is his absolute delight; it is the focus of his life–a consuming passion.

In John chapter 1, we learn that Jesus is the Word of God. In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God…The Word became flesh and took up residence among us, We observed His glory, the glory as the One and Only Son from the Father. (John 1:1, 1:14) We are to passionately love our Savior, Jesus Christ, and we are to passionately love the Bible because Jesus is the Word of God. We can not love our Savior without loving the words that He speaks. We can not know our Savior without reading His words in the Bible. That intense, unspeakable love for the One who died on the cross to forgive us of all the wrong things we have ever done is the same love and devotion we should feel towards God’s word.

This type of consuming desire for God’s word does not magically appear. It is cultivated over time. It grows slowly as we read His word and realize the positive impact it has on our lives, the way it changes us and makes us more like Jesus. Knowing and obeying God’s word radically transforms who we are, what we think about, and what we do.

God’s word gives us wisdom in handling difficult situations as the following verse demonstrates:  Though rulers sit together and slander me, your servant will meditate on your decrees. (Psalm 119:23) At times I have been consumed by the pain that others have viciously afflicted on me. People have purposely hurt me without cause, and the pain festered up inside me and caused bitterness. It took a lot of prayer and seeking God’s help before the matter was resolved in my heart. Part of my triumph over the issue came from forcing my mind to think about other things, such as God and His blessings, rather than my pain. The writer of this psalm turns his mind to meditating on God’s word instead of meditating on those who slander him and set out to destroy him. This is just one more reason why Scripture memorization is so important. When I remember the pain that someone has caused me, I can repeat a Bible verse about love or forgiveness such as Ephesians 4:32. God’s word is an invaluable help in maintaining a correct attitude towards others; it also provides me with the wisdom in handling the relationship with them.

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God’s Word: Absolutely Delightful

  1. Pingback: EMPOWERMENT BY THE WORD OF GOD « movingwithgod

  2. Pingback: Psalm 119: Loving and Obeying God’s Word | MainWriters: Faith and Family

  3. Pingback: Psalm 119: God’s Word Is a Light for Our Path | MainWriters: Faith and Family

Leave a Reply

