Hiding God’s Word in Our Hearts

Bible, Psalm 119

I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

Psalm 119:11

There is a Bible verse to help us during every season in life. Memorizing verses that apply to a specific struggle can be a tremendous help. When I struggle with a bad attitude due to difficult circumstances, I can turn to Romans 5: 3-5 to give me hope. Not only so, but we rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.

 When I am tempted to put off important decisions or refuse to deal with situations that need my attention, I turn to James 1:5. If any of you lack wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.

When I struggle with depression, God reminds me of Psalm 27:13. I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.

Memorizing Bible verses has been a comfort to me over the years because I can call these verses to mind even when I don’t have a Bible handy. In the middle of the night when I am tempted to worry about making wrong choices, I can recall James 1:5 without turning on the lights and finding my Bible. Hiding God’s word in my heart makes the comfort of Bible verses totally mobile. I can take them with me wherever I go.

When choosing verses, I pick ones that will help me with whatever problem I am facing. Then I can decide on a strategy to use. At times, I have written verses on index cards and attached them to my kitchen cabinets. With children in the house, I’ve spent my fair share of time in the kitchen and having the cards on my cabinets has increased the amount of time I have available for Scripture memorization. Other strategies include making up my own songs with the Bible verses as the lyrics and rereading a set of verses every day for a set period of time. For example, while I was pregnant I read Psalm 139 every day, and over time I committed it to memory.

Memorizing the Bible is an important way to help us be obedient in our walk with God. It reminds us of the way we should live our lives, and it gives us the strength to do it. Best of all, it keeps the treasure of God’s word constantly with us wherever we go.

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hiding God’s Word in Our Hearts

  1. Pingback: Preserve My Life According to Your Word | MainWriters: Faith and Family

  2. Pingback: Forever, God Is Faithful to Keep His Promises | MainWriters: Faith and Family

  3. Pingback: Psalm 119: God’s Word Is a Light for Our Path | MainWriters: Faith and Family

Leave a Reply

