Trusting God When Things Don’t Go Your Way

Years ago, I used to believe that if I prayed, read my Bible, and was obedient to God that He would spare me from unspeakable tragedies. I thought that a righteous life would grant me blessings. I thought it would grant me favor with God when I called out to be rescued. I was not totally correct in my theology, or views about God. Yes, God does bless those who love Him and obey Him, but loving God doesn’t necessarily mean that He will spare you from all heartache. Consider an example in the Bible. In Genesis 39:2-23, we read that Joseph refused to have sex with his master’s wife. As a result, she lied about him and he was thrown into prison. Joseph wasn’t delivered; he was incarcerated and forced to make some choices. Would he still love God even when life didn’t go his way? Would he still have faith in God when nothing made sense?

Joseph chose to love God when he felt unloved, forsaken, and wrongly punished. As a result, God did eventually bless him and make him a ruler in Egypt, second only to Pharoah. However, Joseph had to remain faithful to God when he was clueless about how the pain and heartache he was experiencing would ever be used for his good. In the same manner, we will also suffer in life, but we must hold on to the promise that God loves us and can bring blessings even from our pain.

About MainWriters

Writer and photographer
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Trusting God When Things Don’t Go Your Way

  1. Pingback: Free Through Suffering | The Third Cross Congregation

  2. Sonia holguin says:

    I was promoted to be a superviser,then the following week we got a new manager .so I told him that I was promoted to supervise the production dep. So this was a saturday and were off on sundays and mondays,so here comes tuesday and he told me that he was puting me in a diffrent dep,but that was it, im very confused I feel bilittle and im not happy ive been there for 2years. What should I do any suggestions.thank you

    • MainWriters says:

      I don’t know enough to give you specific instructions. However, I do believe that God cares about you and your situation. I am sorry for your pain.
      The Bible tells us that we are to pray for wisdom (James 1:5). I can’t see everything that is happening at your work, but God can. Ask God for wisdom. Sometimes His answer is not something we hear with our ears. Sometimes God just gives us the impression that there is something that we need to do.
      Make time to read your Bible every day and ask God for wisdom.
      May God bless you wth His wisdom and strength. Melissa Man

  3. Sunny says:

    I don’t know what to do entire life has been failures of plan whenever i plan things initially appear as bright but in the end result in disaster .I’m tired of failure it has affected my confidence tremendously now i have started believing good things are not meant for me life it seems is a curse don’t know what to do i find myself lost i believe that Jesus will free me from troubles but sometimes i feel when help will arrive it will be too late

    • MainWriters says:

      Sunny, May God help you during this difficult time. It is hard to keep trusting God, but God loves us. Isaiah 43:1-5 is comforting. “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;
      I have summoned you by name; you are mine.
      2 When you pass through the waters,
      I will be with you;
      and when you pass through the rivers,
      they will not sweep over you.
      When you walk through the fire,
      you will not be burned;
      the flames will not set you ablaze.
      3 For I am the Lord your God,
      God does not promise to make our problems go away, but He does promise to help us. After suffering from a medical condition that often left me sick and exhausted for almost 20 years, I became discouraged at times. However, God at last provided surgery that has helped me. I’m still sick at times, but it’s better. I had a difficult marriage for about ten years. It finally ended when my husband got someone pregnant. I have endured difficulties that lasted for years. I’m familiar with difficult times, but I have also seen God’s blessings. I have a good marriage now. I know that I am more thankful for my blessings today because of suffering I have endured in the past. There is always hope when we look to God. May God bring you comfort and peace and hope. May His presence comfort you and may His promises encourage you. Melissa

      • Sunny says:

        I would like to discuss with you about my problems and i have some questions for you can u please give me your email id i need answer to certain questions .My email id is ak_pathy84@yahoo.co.in thanks for your reply

  4. Gabriel says:

    I’m glad to have stumbled across all of this. At the age of 23, the sky’s definitely the limit for me but I’ve been slowly trying to build myself back up as a Christian and an individual with a strong mindset. Life hasn’t been terribly difficult, but my past has been a burden on me and I feel like it’s kept me from truly moving on to the future.

    It’s hard for me to hand things over to God because I don’t know where the path will lead me and I’m not sure if the pain I feel now will ever be fixed in the way I want it to be. I’ve been heartbroken from previous relationships, I’ve failed in a lot of my endeavors and I’m only employed part-time at the job. I try to see the silver lining. I’ve found a passion and that passion is starting to grow again. God is working, I’m sure…but it’s hard to always keep that faith and hope alive. Thank you for your inspirational entry…even three years later, you’re impacting those who search for answers.

    God bless you.

    • MainWriters says:

      Gabriel,

      Thank you for reading my post. Life is not easy, and sometimes our goals are harder to reach than we imagined. It’s always helpful to remember that God loves us and that we can pray to Him for wisdom. May God bless you too.
      Melissa

  5. Lala says:

    I have stumbled upon your blog while searching for answer to my pain. I am a Christian since childhood, and because of growing up in a home where I saw my mother being mistreated by my father at a young age I prayed to God to bring me a godly mate. Fast forward 2014, I´m almost 40 y/o and I still haven´t married nor had any relationship, but not because I didn´t want to or was bitter, none of that. I have prayed earnestly for years, I have met some men, but they always leave before even being or wanting a relationship with me.

    Probably this would not seem like a real problem for some, but I have retreated from socializing with people, most people I know are married, with children, and the usual question is when will you get married, do you have a boyfriend?, they become surprised of course when my answer is no.
    I haven´t got a clue of how much longer do I have to endure. It is hard and painful living like this.

    • MainWriters says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog. I think that it’s important to try to enjoy whatever stage of life you’re in. Some people marry and other people don’t. My prayer is that God would fill your life with joy and a close relationship with Him. I don’t know if you will marry or not. I do know that God wants you to experience a close relationship with Him. It is important to cultivate friendships with people so that you can encourage each other. May God bless you and direct you and may you experience His love today. Melissa Main

    • sunny says:

      Hi Lala,

      All I can say trust Lord he will deliver you from problem pray earnestly like Job , Joseph .God ways are different than us . Its better to wait rather to marry a wrong person a right person can give you happiness beyond imagination .Lord timing , ways are perfect which we always find fighting that is our carnal nature but when we step back and look at the turn of event which happened we can see God glory .God have plan for us plan for hope and not of failure walk by faith not by sight i had been in , years of depression , bad relationship , unemployed but God delivered me from unemployment and I believe he will send me the perfect spouse too so walk by faith not by sight.I came searching for my answer to this blog 2 years ago like you hopeless , tired and spiritless but now my life is back on track slowly yes there are times trust me that give me waiting period but I have learned to lean on God Got this post thought would share with you

      God Behind the Scenes
      June 27th, 2014 Brigitte Straub

      “Wait for the Lord; Be strong, and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the Lord.” Psalm 27:14 (ESV)

      The waiting room is a place where time seems to stand still and life appears to be put on hold. It can seem like forever waiting for that perfect spouse to come into your life or to get pregnant after years of trying everything. What about waiting for a job offer or your sick child to get better?

      Waiting.

      Sometimes we want to give up believing that God even remembers us in our time of need. Joseph was sent into a dungeon meant for criminals even though he had done nothing wrong. Yet he remained faithful to God. I wonder what it was like to wait on God in those brick-built walls underground for all those years? (Genesis 40)

      Joseph’s waiting on God was never in vain.

      For a period of time a certain chief butler did not remember Joseph. But God always did and He was with Joseph, seeing through His perfect purpose. Jospeth became Pharaoh’s right-hand man and played an integral part in saving not only his own people, but also the nation of Egypt.

      Waiting on God is never easy. Most of the time we don’t see what He is doing behind the scenes, but that doesn’t make God any less faithful or visible.

      Heavenly Father, Help me to trust you more. I have been distraught in my waiting and have wondered where You have been in it. I surrender my will and ask for Your will to be done in my life. Thank you for loving me and for your faithfulness. Help me to be always faithful to you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

